OSA / Guide / Library

U.S. GOVERNMENT DOCUMENTS ON THE SOVIET UNION
Microfilm collection

Confidential U. S. State Department Central Files, 1945-1959
These are microfilm copies of the U.S. Department of State's "Central Files," made up of instructions and correspondence received from and sent to U.S. diplomatic posts abroad. They provide significant information on political, military, social, and economic developments for the Soviet Union and include minutes, interviews, letters, and translations of foreign documents.

The Soviet Union : Internal Affairs
1945-1949          39 reels
1950-1954          38 reels
1955-1959          46 reels

The Soviet Union : Foreign Affairs
1945-1949          10 reels
1950-1954          12 reels
1955-1959          15 reels

Confidential U. S. Diplomatic Post Records;
Russia and the Soviet Union

Part 1: Russia. From Czars to Commissars, 1914-1918          10 reels
This collection contains American diplomatic reports from Russia. The reports deal with numerous subjects: the political and economic consequences of World War I, the military situation, the collapse of the Czarist regime and the establishment of the Provisional Government in the February Revolution, conflict between the Provisional Government and General Kornilov, the Russo-Japanese Entente, the Bolshevik coup d'etat in the October Revolution, activities of the Polish Provisional Government, the political situation in Romania, the Causasus, Estonia, Latvia, and the Ukraine, the question of recognition of the Soviet government by the Allies, the first meeting of the Soviet Congress, Soviet foreign policy, Trotsky, the Treaty of Brest-Litovsk, the arrival of Allied forces into Russia and the Russian response to them, the YMCA and the Red Cross relief activities, and the beginnings of the Soviet Political Police (the Cheka).

Confidential U. S. Diplomatic Post Records;
Russia and the Soviet Union
Part 2: The Soviet Union 1919-1933
          75 reels
This collection includes official reports filed by American diplomats based on eyewitness accounts, interviews with political leaders, and translated government reports. Selected titles include: - Trotsky's Report on Economic Problems (1920) - Treaty of Rapallo between Soviet Russia and Germany (1922) - The Death of Lenin (1924) - Communist Work amoung the Negroes in the United States (1930) - Correspondence with the Chinese Communist Party (1930) - Russian Peasant Policy, 1932-1934

Confidential U. S. Diplomatic Post Records;
Russia and the Soviet Union

Part 3: The Soviet Union 1934-1941          60 reels
This collection includes official reports filed by American diplomats based on eyewitness accounts, interviews with political leaders, and translated government reports. Selected titles include: - Purging of Officials and other Prominent Persons (1937) - Outbreak of Fighting between Japan and the Soviet Union (1938) - The First Soviet Protocol, Signed by USSR, United Stated, and Great Britain, regarding the Supplying of Materials for the War Effort (1941) - Evacuation of the Government from Moscow (1941).

OSS/State Department Intelligence and Research
Reports, Part VI., The Soviet Union
Part XI., The Soviet Union, 1950-1961 + Supplements
          14 reels
The Office of Strategic Services and the State Department assigned leading scholars in international affairs and in a variety of area studies to write special, classified reports during World War II and the cold war. These reports helped to shape U.S. foreign policy decisions, and they are now providing an excellend, previously untapped source for the study of the recent history and politics of major nations and areas of the world.
Parts VI and XI focus on the Soviet internal affairs and international relations from 1941 through 1961.
Part VI: The Soviet Union
- Russia and Germany in Winter and Spring (1941)
- Political Orientation and Morale in the USSR (1943)
- Russian National Income and Defense Expenditures (1943)
- Trends in the Status of the Russian Worker (1943)
- Standards of Living in the USSR (1945)

CIA Research Reports. The Soviet Union, 1946-1976           10 reels
Based on the authority of the National Security Act of 1947, the CIA's mandate has been to "produce and disseminate foreign intelligence relating to the national security, including foreign political, economic, scientific, technical, military, geographic, and sociological intelligence to meet the needs of the President, the National Security Council, and other elements of the U.S. Government." As can be seen in CIA Research Reports, this mandate has resulted in a diverse body of documentation that holds rich potential for historians and political scientists. Beginning in 1946 with reports of the CIA's predecessor, the Central Intelligence Group, the collection reflects key points of U.S. interest during the first three decades following World War II.

U.S. GOVERNMENT DOCUMENTS

FOREIGN BROADCAST INFORMATION SERVICE (FBIS)

DAILY REPORTS


Microfiche collection

Western Europe
1977-1978; 1980 with gaps; 1981-1985; 1986-1987 with gaps;
1988-1993; 1994 with gaps

Soviet Union (3998 microfiches)
1977-1984 with gaps; 1985-1986; 1987-1988 with gaps; 1989-1990 

Eastern Europe (4350 microfiches)
1977 with gaps; 1978; 1979-1980 with gaps; 1981; 1982-1988 with gaps;
1989-1993; 1994 with gaps 

Central Eurasia
1992 with gaps, 1993; 1994 with gaps 

China (27 microfiches)
Oct. 1992

 

© 1995-2012 OSA Archivum at Central European University